The rotating President of SIOPE has a leading role.  He/she presides the meetings of the Board of Directors and officially represents SIOPE in international meetings.  Together with the Board, he/she decides over the priorities and the strategy for the future.

Siope_DSC1631Current President

The current President is Professor Martin Schrappe from University Hospital Kiel, Germany.  Officially announced at the SIOPE General Assembly in Vienna in 2015, he has been a SIOPE Board Member for several years and was instrumental in the success of SIOPE’s principal project, the European Network for Cancer Research in Children and Adolescents (ENCCA) project, funded under the Seventh Framework Programme.

You can find here the Press Release on our current President.


Professor Pamela Kearns (University of Birmingham, Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit, United Kingdom) is the SIOPE President-Elect (at the end of 2016, 98% of SIOPE members expressed their positive feedback on the appointed SIOPE President-Elect).


The SIOPE Staff and Board members would like to express their genuine gratitude to Past-Presidents:

  • Prof. Gilles Vassal (France) from 2013 to 2015
  • Prof. Ruth Ladenstein (Austria) from 2010 to 2012
  • Prof. Kathy Pritchard Jones (United Kingdom) from 2008 to 2010
  • Prof. Andrea Biondi (Italy) from 2007 to 2008

c/o BLSI
Clos Chapelle-aux-Champs 30, Bte 1.30.30
1200 Brussels

Tel: +32 2 880 62 82